MG Car Club

It's all about the MG's - The British Sports Car America Loved First

Log in

29th Annual Houston All British Car Day

November 02, 2018 12:12 PM | Bob Chalker (Administrator)

By Dave Renner

The 29th Houston All British Car Day, sponsored by the Houston MG Car Club, was held October 20, 2018 in Katy, Texas. The undaunted participants gathered under cool grey skies but no rain fell at the show to dampen spirits. Fifty classic British cars representing thirteen marques were on display for the approving crowds at Katy Market Day to enjoy.

The entries read like a Who’s Who of British auto legends. The more familiar badges of MG and Triumph, Aston Martin and Austin Healey, Jaguar and Range Rover, Morris Minor, Morris Mini and Mini Cooper shared the tarmac with less often seen TVR, Berkeley, Sunbeam and Shelby Cobra. They were dazzling, charming, beautiful and unique-- history lessons on wheels, with the expected oil drips, leather upholstery smells and engine roars to add ambiance to the experience.

The Best of Show award went to Arnel Brown for his lovely 1953 MGTD, which sports a very rare and stylish, period correct hard top. It was a standout in a sterling crowd. The cars owned by Albert Amato (1966 Austin Healey Sprite Mk III), Peter Ferrer (2010 Jaguar XKR) and Nancy Money (1976 TR6) were placed into the Premier Class.

Arnel Brown’s 1953 MGTD also won first in the MGTD category, with Ron Redding taking second with his 1952 MGTD. Barry Jones took first place in the MGTC class with his 1947 MGTC. In the MGTF category, Alex Chaykoski (1954 MGTF) was awarded first place and Glenn and Fran Carpenter (1954 MGTF) garnered second place. Jim Early (1962 MGA MK ll) and Mike Gentry (1960 MGA 1600) shared first place in the MGA class while Roald Lokken (MGA 1600) and Don Lantz (MGA 1600) shared third place.

In the MGB Chrome Bumper class, Terry Myers (1971 MGB) took first place, Dale Schiller (1972 MGB) took second place and Dwight Dawson (1973 MGB) took third place. In the MGB GT class, Nick Roccaforte (1973 MGB GT) took first place, with Roger Sykes (1974 MGB GT) awarded second place. In the MGB Rubber Bumper category Ray Matocha (1979 MGB) took first place, Robert Gilbert (1975 MGB) took second, and Kim Michael Wittenberg (1977 MGB) took third place. Susan and Keith Cannon (1971 MG Midget) took first place in the MG Midget class.

Clark McKinley was awarded first place in the Triumph TR2 & 3 class with his 1959 TR3A. David Smith (1967 TR4A) took first place and Mike Hado (1965 TR4A) took second in the Triumph TR4 & 250 class. In the Triumph TR6 category, Gary Myers (1976 TR6) won first place, Timothy Maxwell (1974 TR6) placed second and Mike Rouse (1971 TR6) was awarded third place.

Greg Chronowski took first place in the Austin Healey 100 class with his 1954 AH 100 roadster. Marc Dickson took first in the Austin Healey 3000 category with his 1967 AH 3000 BJ8. Jorn Schrenus took first place in the Land Rover class with his 1983 Range Rover Vogue. Michael Thingstad took first place in the British Luxury class with his 2008 Aston Martin Vantage.

Keith Ryder (2018 Jaguar F-Type) was awarded first place in the Jaguar 1969 and newer class. John Ramsey (2003 Jaguar XK8) placed second and Matt Cox (2014 XJ-R) took third in that class. Michael Carter took first place in British Modified class with his 1958 Berkeley SE492. The 1967 Sunbeam Alpine owned by Shannon Hodell was awarded first place in the Sunbeam category.

Hal McGinnis (2006 Mini Cooper S JCW) took first in the New Mini class and James and Tebbi Mayes (1966 Morris Mini Traveller) took first place in the Mini category. Michael and Stephanie Woodward (1961 Morris Minor 1000) took first place in the British Special Interest class. Peter Ferrer (1965 Shelby Cobra) took second place with Steve Russell (1974 TVR 2500M) taking third place in the British Special Interest class.

Proceeds from the show support the Russ Seto Memorial Scholarship, which is given to support the education of future automotive technicians.

2018 HABCD Award Winner Photos

Views of the Show

Contact Us:  HoustonMGCarClub@gmail.com

Houston MG Car Club

PO Box 40711

Houston, TX   77240. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software